News And Events
Event Calendar
S.L. Dearing's Blog
Rising Indies United Blog
Press Kit - S.L. Dearing
Press Kit - S.L. Dearing



Shannon L. Dearing was raised in Westlake Village, California, a true Southern Californian at heart; she was reared in the waves of Zuma and Malibu, regularly visited (and still does) Disneyland and played in the snows of Frazier Park.  She developed a love of reading and a love of film from a very early age.  She wrote her first book (albeit, only 5 pages) at the tender age of five, a Mother’s Day tome… that she still has in her possession today.  Just before her eighth birthday, the family moved to Waterloo, IA.  There in the rural setting of Northern Iowa, her imagination grew.  She and her family stayed only one year before moving to Phoenix, Arizona.  Growing up in Phoenix she developed many friendships and her love of writing.  Her first short story was written at the age of twelve, The Golden Shoes.  She continued to explore the world of short stories and poetry, all the while reading.  At the age of fourteen, she went from the children’s books of Robert C. O’Brien, C. S. Lewis and Albert Payson Terhune and began exploring the world of Stephen King and the world of horror.  There she stayed in the “Valley of the Sun” until her seventeenth year.

That year was her senior year in high school as she moved back to her beloved Southern California.  She attended Long Beach Poly High School, where she took a creative writing course and met the first teacher to encourage her to pursue her writing, Mr. Gene Moffit.  He gently pushed and enlightened.  He was also instrumental in taking several of the students to see a version of Fiddler on the Roof.  This was the first “real” play Shannon had seen, and it wouldn’t be the last.

 She attended Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, where she studied biology, thinking she might become a veterinarian.  That was not to be, so she left Cal Poly SLO in 1987 and began attending Long Beach City College for several years. While at LBCC, she further explored the world of writing and film.  She then left college and struck out on her own, bartending and exploring what the world had to offer.  Eventually she ended up back in the San Fernando Valley (a stones throw from Westlake Village) and resumed her pursuit of academia studying at Los Angeles City College’s renowned Television/ Film program, under Dr. Jerry Hendrix and Joni Varner.   She began writing screenplays and working on school projects, excelling in editing and writing. 

When not writing or reading, Shannon enjoys spending time with friends and family.  Her hobbies include making jewelry and book swag, baking and candy making, learning the guitar and drawing.

Shannon has since worked on several film projects in many capacities: directing, writing, First Asst. Director, Etc.  She currently works in an administrative capacity in Century City when she is not writing. Writing since grade school, Shannon only discovered her passion for writing years later and over the years she has written several screenplays, poems and short stories as well as her current published work.   
Her first series (The Lia Fail Chronicles) has several books available at most retail outlets - The Gathering and From The Gathering to The Bridging. In addition, there are several of her short stories currently available at Amazon. Several of those stories are from the anthologies listed below, as well as some original works. She has also contributed short stories to several anthologies: Apocalypse: An Anthology by Readers and Authors, Paranormal Anthology with a TWIST, & Stalkers (Published by Cynthia Shepp and Rene Folsom) and All Our Love (published by Novel Grounds).  She also contributed to Love Potions, Lotion and Lore (Published by Karen Pierce-Gonzalez). 


Shannon is a multi-genre and mash-up author, unrestricted by content, only interested in telling the story that is screaming to be told. She currently lives in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles, CA with her two cats.



For more information visit S.L. Dearing at


The Gathering: Book One of the Lia Fail Chronicles

In the near future, the world went to war using weapons so technologically advanced it not only destroyed it’s target, it warped the world and ripped at the fabric of reality itself bringing forth a world where old technology is rendered all but useless, a world where the landscapes as we once knew them are completely changed. A world where the survivors not only learn from the mistakes of their past but celebrate the differences that were the heart of the war’s conflict.

This is a world of peace, of harmony, of magic.

The Gathering : Book One of the Lia Fail Chronicles

is the first book in a new Paranormal, Fantasy, Adventure Series.


Another world war has happened and everything we knew is now gone. There are no more countries.  No more governments of old... only survivors who have created a new world made up of small colonies.  It has been  thirteen years and the village of Lia Fail sits peacefully above the old Hollywood Reservoir in the Santa Monica Mountains.  The settlement is making ready to host the fall Gathering, a time where every six months the other colonies from various parts of what was once Southern California visit for ten days of fun and reminiscence.  

The Gathering 
begins as any other party.  A time for new loves, old friends, family, dancing and fun, but all too soon that changes.  The people in Lia Fail begin to experience strange goings on they can't explain, unseen forces attack several guests and friends begin to distrust friends.  When they receive news of a horrific massacre, they realize they must face an impending dark evil that threatens to descend on the tranquil village.  

Alia Stark, the queen of Lia Fail, must face this darkness.  But she will face the evil along side her oldest and dearest friends, as well as an amazing new ally.  The fate of her people, the lives of her children and freedom itself rests in her hands.  Will she have the courage to do what must be done?  

This is the beginning of a journey that will change all of their lives forever.

The Gathering: Book One of the Lia Fail Chronicles is the first in a new Paranormal,  Fantasy, and Adventure Series.
This book contains adult situations and is intended for a mature audience.



S.L. Dearing

  • Series: Lia Fail Chronicles
  • Paperback: 478 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (August 16, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1453731067
  • ISBN-13: 978-1453731062
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.2 x 9 inches


HomeNewsletter Signup FormBook StorePurchase LinksThe World of Lia FailNovellas / NovellettesShort StoriesAnthologies ~ CollectionsAssociates (Editors, Artists, Authors, etc.)Underdweller Treasures